Inauguration Of 9th State Assembly: Oyo Gov., Makinde Vows To Uphold Doctrine Of Separation Of Power As 32 Years Old Ogundoyin Emerges The New Speaker

The Oyo State governor, Engr. Seyi Makinde has promised to maintain existing cordial relationship with the legislative arm of government to move the state forward.

Governor Makinde stated this during the inauguration of the members of the House of Assembly in the state.

He expressed that his administration will respect the autonomy of the legislature and uphold doctrine of separation of power.

The governor solicited the support by working on legislations that will accelerate the development of the state to through his vision and mission on education, agriculture, social inclusion and infrastructure development.

Mr. Makinde implored the lawmakers to shun partisanship and worked together in harmony for the progress of the people and state in general.

Meanwhile, Hon. Adebo Ogundoyin has emerged the speaker for the 9th Oyo State House of Assembly. 

Hon. Ogundoyin, a member from Ibarapa East state constituency was nominated by Hon. Babajide Adebayo, who represents Ibadan North constituency 2, while Hon. Adeola Bamidele from Iseyin/Itesiwaju state constituency seconded the nomination.

Ogundoyin, who is one of the sons of the late philanthropist and industrialist, late Chief Adeseun Ogundoyin, was unanimously elected by the 32 lawmakers of the State Assembly.

He was sworn in by the clerk of the assembly, Ms. Felicia Oyediran.

The 32 years old speaker, in his acceptance speech, promised to run an open door policy by welcoming contributions, support and cooperation of all members with the aim of making laws for good governance.

He also implored his colleagues to key into the vision of refreshing Oyo State, irrespective of party affiliations.

He added: ‘if this vision is to be achieved, then members of this house must form an unbreakable synergy with both the executive and the judiciary in order to bring our dreams for Oyo State to quick fruition.”

Also, elected are Hon. Muhammed Akeem Fadeyi from Ona Ara state constituency as Deputy Speaker, Hon. Sanjo Onaolapo from Ogbomosho South state constituency as Majority Leader, and Hon. Asimiyu Alarape from Atiba state constituency as Minority Leader. Hon. Akeem Adebibu from Iwajowa state constituency emerged as the Chief Whip, Hon. Olasunkami Babalola from Egbeda state constituency as Deputy Majority and Hon. Yusuf Adebisi from Ibadan South West 1 emerged Deputy Chief Whip.



Click one of our representatives below to chat on WhatsApp or send us an email to

× How can I help you?