News Politics

PDP Wins Akwa Ibom Rerun Elections

By: Babs-Oluribigbe Adeoye

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the rerun elections for the senate, federal and state constituencies in Akwa Ibom State.

All the rerun elections were held on Saturday in Essien Udim local government area.

Independent National Electoral Commission said that some of its officials were manhandled during the exercise.

Meanwhile the results of the elections released by INEC on Sunday indicated that PDP won in all the elections.

For the Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial District election, the PDP candidate, Chris Ekpenyong, poled 134,717 votes to beat the arch rival and former senator, Godswill Akpabio, who polled 83,820 votes

Recalled that the INEC had on March 2019 announced Mr. Ekpenyong as the winner of the poll. Dissatisfied with the result, Akpabio, who is now the Minister of Niger Delta challenged the outcome in the tribunal.

The national assembly tribunal however upheld the election of Mr Ekpenyong. Akpabio later appealed the judgement at the Court of Appeal, the Appellate court in its judgement ordered for rerun election in Akpabio local government, Essien Udim.

After he was appointed the minister, Akpabio said he would no longer stand for the rerun election and asked his party, All Progressives Congress to replace his name but INEC rejected the idea.

For the Ikot Ekpene/Essien Udim/Obot Akara Federal Constituency election, the PDP candidate, Nsikak Ekong, was declared the winner, having scored 45,366 votes, while his closest rival Emmanuel Akpan of the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 22,757.

Also, for the Essien Udim State Constituency, the PDP candidate, Esse Umoh, scored 18,999 votes, while the APC candidate, Nse Ntuen scored 7,108 votes.

The APC and its candidates for elections into the state and federal constituencies had announced their withdrawal from the poll hours before its commencement.

Giving reasons for his withdrawal, Nse Ntuen, the APC candidate for the Essien Udim State Constituency election, claimed he won 2019 election, added that he has filed a suit in court to “compel INEC to release my Certificate of Return and disembark from conducting any election without further delay”.

On his part, Emmanuel Akpan, the APC candidate for the Ikot Ekpene/Essien Udim/Obot Akara Federal Constituency election, said he withdrew from the rerun because he did not trust the Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Mike Igini, to organise a free and fair election.



WhatsApp chat