Senate Gets Principal Officers

By: Peretine Ikenebomeh

The principal officers of the ninth senate have been announced.

The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, at plenary on Tuesday read out separate letters from the All Progressive Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), stating the new principal officers for majority and minority positions nominated by the two leading parties.

Yahaya Abdullahi (APC, Kebbi) was named Senate leader, while Ajayi Borrofice (APC, Ondo) is now the Senate deputy leader.

Former Governor of Abia State, Orji Uzor Kalu (APC, Abia) was nominated for the position of the chief whip while Aliyu Abdullahi (APC, Niger) becomes the deputy chief whip.

The senator representing Abia Central, Enyinnaya Abaribe, is the minority leader while Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP, Taraba) is the deputy minority leader.

The FCT senator, Philip Aduda, retains his position as minority whip and Sahabi Yau (PDP, Zamfara) is the deputy minority whip.



WhatsApp chat